Board of Directors

The AFA Board of Directors includes arts champions from across the province, appointed by the Government of Alberta.

Through their mandate established by the Alberta Foundation for the Arts Act, 1991, the Board of Directors encourages and supports Alberta’s arts community by:

  • allocating the annual budget
  • approving AFA funding and scholarships
  • approving and monitoring the acquisition, exhibition and preservation of works in the AFA collection
  • developing and implementing the AFA's strategic plan

Code of Conduct

The AFA Board of Directors operate under a Code of Conduct that reflects a commitment to the AFA's values and provides a framework to guide ethical conduct in a way that upholds the integrity and reputation of the agency. Download the AFA Board Code of Conduct (PDF).

Board Compensation Disclosure 

Alberta public sector bodies are now required to post online the names and compensation paid to all board members. View compensation disclosure information for the AFA Board of Directors.

Acting Chair

Luca Petryshyn, Edmonton

Photo of Luca Petryshyn

Luca is an Edmonton-born and raised prairie Ukrainian. After studying, working and living on four different continents in four different languages he moved back to pursue a career in strategy and operations. As a director he applies his training in business to help foster excellence, sustainability and accessibility in the arts.


Paul R. Baay, Calgary

Photo of Paul R. Baay

Paul has more than 25 years of experience as a business leader in the oil and gas sector, with a focus internationally. Further, in addition to his business acumen, Paul also has a passion for art, serving on the Board of the National Gallery of Canada for over 14 years and the Board of the Alberta College of Arts and Design for 4 years. With his wealth of knowledge and expertise in business and the arts Paul is honoured to serve as the Vice Chair of the Foundation. Paul will assume Vice Chair of the AFA Board on April 15, 2020. 

Aleem Bharwani, Calgary

Photo of Aleem Bharwani

Aleem is a medical physician by day, but has been a board member of the AFA since 2014. He is interested in exploring art as an economic engine in Alberta's economic diversification, and as a tool to enhance quality of life and learning.

Maryann Chichak, Whitecourt

Photo of Maryann Chichak

Maryann Chichak is the mayor of Whitecourt. She is passionate about increasing access to arts and cultural experiences in rural communities.

Candace Hook, Grande Prairie

Photo of Candace Hook

Candace is an arts administrator who has worked with Alberta cultural organizations as an artist, instructor, volunteer, board member and as Executive Director of the Centre for Creative Arts in Grande Prairie since 2008. Candace is a long-time resident of Alberta since moving here in 2000 to attend Alberta College of Art and Design. She is passionate about promoting and supporting arts and culture in our province. 

Tom Jackson, Calgary

Photo of Tom Jackson

Tom Jackson's career in film, television and music spans more than 40 years.

Peter Kiss, Edmonton

(Image coming soon.) Peter Kiss has more than 20 years of experience as a business leader supporting local Indigenous communities. He has a passion for the Alberta arts scene.

Nabil Malik, Fort McMurray

Photo of Nabil Malik

A resident of the Wood Buffalo region, Nabil is a progressive and creative contributor to the cultural fabric of his community.  In his work as a community development planner by day and an active volunteer by night, he advocates for the vital role the arts play in placemaking, creating vibrant communities, and fostering a sense of identity and belonging.  Nabil is excited to bring his passion for the arts, community engagement, and social well-being to the Alberta Foundation for the Arts.

Mary Rozsa de Coquet, Calgary

Photo of Mary Rozsa de Coquet

Mary Rozsa de Coquet is an arts sector leader with more than 25 years’ experience in innovative management programs, contributions to public policies and research. Mary will assume Chair of the AFA Board on April 15, 2020.